Priscilla Ahn: When You Grow Up

Priscilla Ahn: When You Grow Up

Priscilla Ahn: When You Grow Up MUSIC CD folk singer songs acoustic guitar! 2011 


Audio CD 

Blue Note 



Album Features

Track Listing
1. When You Grow Up
2. One Day I Will Do
3. Oo La La
4. Vibe So Hot
5. City Lights (Pretty Lights)
6. I Don't Have Time to Be in Love
7. Cry Baby
8. Lost Cause
9. Empty House
10. I Will Get Over You
11. The Elf Song
12. Torch Song


Album Notes
Personnel: Priscilla Ahn (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, banjo, autoharp, piano, toy piano, pump organ, chamberlin, Mellotron, omnichord, sound effects, background vocals); Gus Seyffert (guitar, electric guitar, lap steel guitar, sound effects); Ethan Johns (electric guitar, pump organ, Mellotron, drums, percussion, loops, sound effects); Lucy Wilkins, Calina de la Mare (violin); Vincent Greene (viola); Helen Rathbone (cello); John Wood (piano, celesta, Wurlitzer organ); Jeremy Stacey (drums); Dominic Monks (sound effects); Charlie Wadhams, Michael Barkley Green (background vocals).Audio Mixer: Ethan Johns.Recording information: Snake Ranch Studio, London, England; State Of The Ark Studios, London, England; Stone Henge, Echo Park, CA; Three Crows Studios, Bath, England.Illustrator: Julia Kuo.There's no denying Priscilla Ahn's voice. Crystalline and pitch-perfect, it's the sort of classic-sounding soprano that belongs to an earlier decade, when folksingers wore flowers in their hair and sang songs about free love. Ahn is the product of a more current generation, but she fills her second album with songs that are just as timeless, from stripped-down Laurel Canyon folk tunes to lightly orchestrated chamber pop ballads. There's plenty of acoustic guitar here, as well as soft splashes of piano, lap steel, and strings, but Ahn's vocals are the focal point. She saturates When You Grow Up with double- and triple-tracked harmonies, and most of the songs' instrumental hooks are sung rather than played, creating a sound that's ornate but still intimate. She duets with Charlie Wadhams on "I Don't Have Time to Be in Love," tips her hat to former collaborator Benji Hughes with a slow, sexy cover of "Vibe So Hot," and co-writes with singers like Inara George, Sia Furler, and Eleni Mandell on some of the album's best songs. Yet despite the heavy guest list, When You Grow Up still feels more personal than Ahn's 2008 debut, which found her dabbling in indie pop, torch songs, and Norah Jones-styled jazz. She focuses on folk this time around, consolidating her strengths while exploring every quirky corner of the genre. ~ Andrew Leahey

For CD Player

This item is for the original media, and includes only the media (ie. CD, floppy ...) UNLESS specifically stated above and/or in the title. If more than just the media is included, it will state which items are (ie. box, manual, etc ). Items that come in a sleeve refer to a generic CD sleeve (typically white) and will be sent with shipping protection to avoid damage during transit. If available, we will also send the front and/or back CD inserts if in stock. If these are important to you, please message us to verify we have them available to send. Please do not assume items are included other than what's stated. Again, ask questions PRIOR to purchasing if you have any concerns.


All images/pictures are stock photos and are for reference only, mainly to show the type of game you will be getting. Please read "WHAT YOU GET" for what is included with the media. Screenshots may vary based on your own computer system, video card, monitor, etc.


Computers are like people, each one is different. Unlike console games, a computer game may install and work flawlessly on one system but may need adjustments on another. This is due to a variety of factors, mainly the OS platform running, video card you have, drivers, protection software installed, etc. Many times manufacturers release updates to games to fix bugs and add enhancements. We would be happy to help get the game going on your computer, but ultimately compatibility issues are the responsibility of the buyer. We suggest going to Google and searching for the name of the game along with the words "system requirements" to determine if your system is suitable. Ultimately, we are not responsible for software compatibility problems or publisher's errors.


Stated within the auction is what platform the game will work on (ie. Windows, Mac, Linux...) This is a generic statement and specific platform versions (ie. XP, Vista...) will have to be researched by the buyer. Games that came out PRIOR to XP or higher will not specifically state they will work on that release, but only because they came out before those versions were made. Many, if not most, will work on XP or higher with a few quick adjustments. We provide instructions with all items purchased on how to do this adjustment using the Program Compatibility Wizard. If we find out that an item will definately not work on a specific version, we will state it. For DOS games, you may need to play it with a free DOSbox program if the Program Compatibility Wizard does not work.

64-Bit Windows OS Systems:
For 64-bit Operating Systems, older games most likely will NOT work due to 64-bit systems not being able to run 16-bit programming code (most games prior to 2000). For DOS games, you may need to play it with a free DOSbox program.

Macintosh Systems:
For Macintosh programs, most older games will need to be run in Classic Environment if you have a MAC OS X 10.0 - 10.4 version. Please research Google on how to do this, or send us a message for information prior to purchasing. If your MAC OS system doesn't support Classic Environment (ie. MAC OS X 10.5 or Higher OR Intel Macs), you will have to try running it using the free program called SheepShaver, but compatibility is not ensured. Please research prior to purchasing or ask questions.


Please verify you have the required hardware in order to use the specified media (ie. CD, DVD, floppy drives, etc.) If the item comes as a floppy disc, make sure you have either the needed 3.5" floppy drive or the bigger and older 5.25" floppy drive.


  • Ask questions PRIOR to purchasing an order to avoid any confusion.
  • Be patient if there are problems during installation or gameplay. Typically someone else has already ran into that problem and has listed a solution online. Contact us and we will do our best to help.
  • Be sure to update your video card drivers and search for updates to the game from the manufacturer.


    We typically ship all items out within 1-2 business days after payment is received. In regards to the stated shipping and handling, remember that these costs include more than just postage.

    International buyers please email/chat with us to determine if you are eligible for shipping of a specific product. If you are, then international buyers not shipping to an address within the U.S. can expect their orders to take anywhere from 5 days to 4 weeks to be received, depending on how fast/well USPS is moving. Additionally, international orders typically have to go through governmental customs, which can delay the arrival process. Import duties, taxes, and charges are not included in the item price or shipping cost. These charges are the buyer's responsibility. Please check with your country's customs office to determine what these additional costs will be prior to buying. Customs fees are normally charged by the shipping company or collected when you pick the item up. These fees are not additional shipping charges.